Reflections on Life Thus Far

My life. My story: Exploring mental health, spirituality, meditation & random thoughts I have


Book Recommendation: Life after near Death

Buy the book here:  or here:


I don’t know much German so Google translated the phrase out of curiosity. It translates literally as “Quick flees the time was ready” which I think may be better stated as “our time goes too quickly” or perhaps “Times flies before we are ready”. Sorry for the poor translation.

As a NDE (near death experiencer) this book is invaluable. I finally feel like there are answers to the questions I have had ever since my NDE in late 2000. The author has had her own NDE and interviews others including their experiences in her book. She comes from a research background so it’s not a book filled with ‘New Age’ concepts as much as personal stories and evidence based research (but don’t worry it is far from dry or tedious).

The book came out earlier this year and I just found it at my local library. It has given me a sense of peace knowing I am not alone in what I experienced and the after effects of the NDE. I even found myself thinking “aha! so that’s WHY I do/feel like that” and just generally feeling less crazy. Best of all is finding out about how all people who’ve had a NDE have muddy brown/black and white in their aura representing the trauma and shift in consciousness following the NDE. A friend able to see/read auras told me (before I found this book) I had a the black and white colours in my aura as described in the book. It really helped me feel better knowing everyone has that aura if they’ve had a NDE.

If you have had a Near Death Experience or know someone who has you should read this book! I’m not getting paid to promote or endorse or anything-I just want people to have something they can go to and find comfort/answers to some of their questions about the near death experience. You might find it in your local library or book store or you can order it on Amazon.

©Natalya for Reflections on Life Thus Far, 2016.


More Art by Alex Grey

1 Comment


Cosmic Christ







Description of Aura Colours

Sacred Haven-Aura Colours

The link above will also take you to the main site which has lots of fun information for anyone spiritually minded (in the non-traditional sense). Enjoy!

The seven chakras.

The seven chakras.



Chakra Affirmations

Recently I bought a book on the chakras called The Book of Chakra Healing. It’s very good for beginners to the topic like me. The book outlines what each chakra is responsible for and how you can balance them if you are not totally ‘up to snuff’! Anyhow, it shares meditations, visualizations, yoga exercises and all sorts of things but what I’ll share with you here are the affirmations. I really like easy, simple affirmations designed to make me/you feel better.

The Root Chakra:

  1. My body is becoming more important to me. I nurture it constantly.
  2. I am taking responsibility for my life. I can cope with any situation.
  3. I recognize the abundance of love, trust, and care surrounding me.
  4. My internal mother is always here for me, protecting, nourishing, and soothing me.
  5. I deserve the best that life has to offer. My needs are always met.
  6. I am connected to Mother Earth and know the security of being grounded in reality, in the moment.

The Sacral Chakra:

  1. I  am moving toward a time when I am totally happy and fulfilled. Life offers me everything I need for that journey.
  2. I am worthy of love and sexual pleasure.
  3. I have a right to express my desires to myself and others.
  4. Who I am is good enough.
  5. Life is unfolding as it should.
  6. I am prepared to honour my body and feel good about my sexuality.

The Solar Plexus:

  1. I accept and value myself exactly as I am.
  2. I know that I am becoming the best person I can be.
  3. I determine to treat myself with honour and respect.
  4. My personal power is becoming stronger everyday.
  5. I am my own person. I choose how to think and behave.
  6. I deserve all the love, joy, and prosperity that comes to me. I am open to receiving all life’s good things.

The Heart Chakra:

  1. I send love to everyone I know; all hearts are open to receive my love.
  2. I accept that pain is an essential part of my growth and development.
  3. I love myself for who I am and the potential within me.
  4. All past hurt I release into the hands of love.
  5. I am grateful for all the love that is in my life.
  6. Other people deserve my compassion.
  7. The love I feel for myself and others is unconditional.
  8. Love will set me free. Others love the best they can. If someone doesn’t love me “enough”, they may be limited in their expression of love and deserve my compassion.

The Throat Chakra:

  1. I am starting to speak up for myself.
  2. What I have to say is worthy of being listened to.
  3. I delight in my self expression and in all of my creative pursuits.
  4. I listen to and acknowledge the needs and wants of others.
  5. I always speak from the Heart.
  6. My thoughts and speech are considered before I utter them.
  7. My voice is becoming stronger and more compelling.

Third Eye Chakra:

  1. I recognize the need for silence and stillness in my life.
  2. The answers to all my questions lie within me.
  3. I trust my inner self to guide and protect me.
  4. I trust my feelings.
  5. I have nothing to prove. I am the Divine Plan manifesting itself.
  6. I am full of wisdom.
  7. I trust that my imagination will create a world of happiness and security for me.
  8. Imagination is the life-blood of my creativity.
  9. I choose to accept myself and others exactly as we are.
  10. Making mistakes enables me to learn, grow, and develop.

The Crown Chakra:

  1. I tune into the union with my Higher Power.
  2. I am starting to accept myself as I am, with love and gratitude.
  3. I cease to limit myself intellectually and in my creativity and connect my spirit to the Source of all knowledge.
  4. I am a unique, radiant, loving being.
  5. I choose to live my life from a place of love and contentment.
  6. I choose to transform my life and become free.
  7. I release all limited thoughts and lift myself up to ever higher levels of awareness.
  8. I am who I am and glory in that.

So there you have the affirmations you are to say to yourself for each of the 7 chakras. I do not have the time to write out what each chakra does so I encourage you to look it up if you’re curious. Good ‘ol Google should turn up loads of results!

©Reflectionsonlifethusfar, 2012.